new to japanese translating, need some advice...

jeffreymgibson

Elite Member
May 2, 2012
I've been studying Japanese for about 2 years now. The 1st year, I just learned kana and mainly listened to lots of audio courses is my car, but this past year I got really serious and studied grammar as well as kanji. I feel like I have a good foundation and I make an effort to learn new kanji and vocabulary everyday.

About once a month a will open up some raw manga or load a visual novel and try my luck at translation so that I can how well I've improved since my last attempt. However, it never fails, I quickly run across words that I don't know and can't find in dictionaries. When I run across an unknown word, 1st I try the more popular dictionaries, and if I can't find it, I try other dictionaries that I know of. As a last resort I'll Google the phrase. If this is now help I feel like Ive hit a wall and I don't know where to look next.

Any advice would be helpful. Are there any decent slang dictionaries or word lists that could help me? I really want to start contributing to translation scene but I always hit a wall whenever this happens.

Whats resources do you guys use for translation?

Thanks,
Jeffrey

Android has a really good dictionary just called JED (made by umibouzu). It has over 300k entries, so it normally pulls up what I'm looking for. It even includes several compounds and short phrases that can be very helpful.

I've been exactly in your shoes.

The way to really get better at Japanese at this point is literally to -submerge- yourself in it. Basically, what I mean to say is to jump right in and expose yourself to it. Japanese is a lot like radiation, the more you stick around with it, the more you'll get it.

So I'll mention a few keys to what you can do.